Carbon Monoxide Leak

Ever since the school year ended on Thursday I keep thinking of the scene in Arrested Development when Michael sends everyone out to get a job  and then walks in the house to find the whole family draped over the furniture, immobile.

Image

“Is there a carbon monoxide leak in this house?”

I’ve been so lethargic that I thought I actually had a carbon monoxide leak in my house.  Thankfully that’s not logistically possible, or else I probably would have been running for the hospital because I’ve been watching a lot of House lately.

My first year of teaching I had some friends who were concerned that I had mono because of how tired I was.  They managed to make me worry too, but in the end it was simply exhaustion from being a first-year teacher.  And my exhaustion now is not from being sick or poisoned, but just from being the end of the school year.  Can you imagine the energy that is expended when an introvert teaches teenagers?!

I really don’t know how the rest of you normal folk survive without a summer vacation.  What do you do when you get burnt out?

Comments and Questions

